Gear guide
Best Whittling Pocket Knives: Folding Carvers Compared
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
A whittling pocket knife is a folder that carves, not just any pocket knife. Three things separate the options: how many blades and which shapes, the steel, and whether the blade locks. The lock is standard blade safety: a folding knife used for whittling should lock, so the blade cannot fold toward the fingers. Of the seven folders here only the two Opinel knives state a lock, the Virobloc ring that Opinel fits to the No.6 and larger. The Flexcut Whittlin' Jack says plainly that it has no locking mechanism, and the other listings do not mention a lock, so treat those as non-locking and keep the cuts light and controlled. Carving-specific folders carry short detail blades of about 1.5 inches, some with small gouges and scorps folded into the same handle; the Opinel No.08 carries one longer 3.35 inch blade. This guide compares each wood carving pocket knife by blade count and length, steel, handle and whether the listing says it arrives sharpened. Everything comes from the listings; nothing here was tested.
Compare the picks
| Pick | Blade | Blade steel | Handle | Arrives sharpened | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Opinel No.08 Carbone folding knife, 3.35 in blade | Folding, locking, 3.35 in | XC90 carbon steel | Beechwood | not stated | - | Amazon |
Flexcut Whittlin' Jack JKN88, 2 carving blades | Folding, no lock, 1.5 + 2 in | High-carbon steel | Aluminum and wood | Yes, pre-sharpened | - | Amazon |
Opinel No.08 Inox folding knife, 3.35 in blade | Folding, locking, 3.35 in | Sandvik 12C27 stainless | Beechwood | not stated | - | Amazon |
Flexcut Detail Jack JKN90, single detail blade | Folding, length not stated | 1095 high carbon steel | Aluminum pistol grip | Yes, ready to use | - | Amazon |
Flexcut Carvin' Jack 2.0 JKN291, 6 tools, right hand | Folding, 6 carving tools | 1095 high carbon steel | Aerospace aluminum | not stated | - | Amazon |
Old Timer 24OT folding whittler, 1.5 in + 5 tools | Folding, 1.5 in + 5 tools | 65Mn high carbon steel | Sawcut | not stated | - | Amazon |
Old Timer 44OT Workmate, 4 blades, 2.2 in | Folding, 4 blades, 2.2 in | High carbon stainless | Sawcut, brass bolsters | not stated | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
If you just want one
- Closest match for the jobOpinel No.08 Carbone folding knife, 3.35 in bladeVirobloc ring locks the blade during use, transport and storage, as the listing describes.
- Most for the money on paperOpinel No.08 Inox folding knife, 3.35 in bladeSandvik 12C27 modified stainless steel, described as anti-corrosive and needing no special maintenance.
- Most complete listingFlexcut Carvin' Jack 2.0 JKN291, 6 tools, right handSix carving tools in one handle: detail knife, straight gouge, pelican knife, V-scorp, gouge scorp and hook knife.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · OPINEL
Opinel No.08 Carbone folding knife, 3.35 in blade
See price on AmazonThe Opinel No.08 in XC90 carbon steel: one 3.35 inch (8.5 cm) blade on a beechwood handle, locked by the Virobloc ring. The single-blade locking folder that people ask about for whittling.
What the listing offers
- Virobloc ring locks the blade during use, transport and storage, as the listing describes.
- XC90 carbon steel blade, described as very hard with good wear resistance and easy regrinding.
- Blade is 3.35 inches (8.5 cm) with an open length of 7.5 inches; the handle is beech from French woodlands.
Limits to know
- The listing warns that carbon steel corrodes easily: wipe and grease the blade and avoid damp places.
- One long general-purpose blade with no detail blade, and the listing does not say how sharp it arrives.

Pick 2 · FLEXCUT
Flexcut Whittlin' Jack JKN88, 2 carving blades
See price on AmazonA two-blade carving folder: a 1.5 inch detail blade and a 2 inch roughing blade in high-carbon steel, about 3 oz and about 4.25 inches closed. A whittling jack knife made for carving, with no lock.
What the listing offers
- Two carving blades: a 1.5 inch detail blade and a 2 inch roughing blade, both in high-carbon steel.
- Stated to be pre-sharpened and honed straight from the factory; made in the USA.
- Weighs about 3 oz and folds to about 4.25 inches, with aluminum inlays and wood veneer on the handle.
Limits to know
- The listing states there is no locking mechanism: it is a traditional slip-joint.
- Blades are described as slightly flexible, so this is not a knife for prying or heavy cuts.

Pick 3 · OPINEL
Opinel No.08 Inox folding knife, 3.35 in blade
See price on AmazonThe stainless Opinel No.08: a 3.35 inch locking blade in Sandvik 12C27 modified stainless steel on a beechwood handle. For carvers who want the Virobloc lock without the rust care of carbon steel.
What the listing offers
- Sandvik 12C27 modified stainless steel, described as anti-corrosive and needing no special maintenance.
- Virobloc ring locks the blade during use, transport and storage.
- 3.35 inch (8.5 cm) blade, 7.5 inches open, with a beechwood handle.
Limits to know
- A single 3.35 inch blade with no short detail blade for work on small figures.
- The listing does not state that the knife arrives sharpened for carving.

Pick 4 · FLEXCUT
Flexcut Detail Jack JKN90, single detail blade
See price on AmazonA jackknife with a single detail blade in 1095 high carbon steel and a pistol grip handle of aerospace grade aluminum. A whittling folding knife built like a detail knife, for carving away from the bench.
What the listing offers
- Razor-sharp 1095 high carbon steel blade, stated as ready to use right out of the package.
- Pistol grip style handle in aerospace grade aluminum, designed to minimize hand fatigue.
- Single detail blade that packs up easily and safely, as the listing puts it; made in the USA.
Limits to know
- Blade length is not stated anywhere in the listing.
- The listing does not say whether the blade locks open, and there is only one blade.

Pick 5 · FLEXCUT
Flexcut Carvin' Jack 2.0 JKN291, 6 tools, right hand
See price on AmazonA folding carving multi-tool with six tools: detail knife, straight gouge, pelican knife, V-scorp, gouge scorp and hook knife, in 1095 high carbon steel with an aluminum handle, a leather sheath and a strop.
What the listing offers
- Six carving tools in one handle: detail knife, straight gouge, pelican knife, V-scorp, gouge scorp and hook knife.
- Comes with a leather belt-mounted sheath and a custom strop.
- Cross-etched aerospace aluminum handle and 1095 high carbon steel; made in the USA.
Limits to know
- This listing is the right-handed version, set up for one carving direction.
- No blade lengths and no lock are stated in the listing.

Pick 6 · Old Timer
Old Timer 24OT folding whittler, 1.5 in + 5 tools
See price on AmazonA six-tool whittler: a 1.5 inch detail blade plus a straight gouge, hook blade, V-scorp, gouge scorp and chisel in 65Mn high carbon steel, 3.9 ounces. A pocket set of carving profiles in one handle.
What the listing offers
- Blade length 1.5 inches (3.8 cm), 6 inches overall and 3.9 ounces: all stated in the listing.
- Carries a straight gouge, hook blade, V-scorp, gouge scorp and chisel alongside the detail blade.
- 65Mn high carbon steel, nickel silver pins and bolsters, and Old Timer's lifetime warranty.
Limits to know
- No blade lock is mentioned: the listing points to heat-treated back springs instead.
- The listing does not say the tools arrive sharpened, and the handle material is not named.

Pick 7 · Old Timer
Old Timer 44OT Workmate, 4 blades, 2.2 in
See price on AmazonA four-blade traditional folder: clip point, sheepsfoot, wharncliffe and pen blades in high carbon stainless steel, 2.2 inch blade length, 1.8 ounces. A general pocket knife that the listing also names for whittling.
What the listing offers
- Four blade shapes: clip point with an extra fine point, sheepsfoot, wharncliffe for general cutting or carving, and a pen blade.
- High carbon stainless steel blades and a weight of 1.8 ounces.
- 5.4 inch overall length with a 2.2 inch blade length stated, plus Old Timer's lifetime warranty.
Limits to know
- A general everyday-carry pattern: none of the blades is a dedicated carving profile.
- No lock is mentioned, and the listing does not say the blades arrive sharpened.
Read before you buy
More gear for the knives and tools stage
Carving Bench chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.